Animal Crossing Happy Home Designer Review

TM_3DS_AnimalCrossingHappyHomeDesigner

(Image credit to Nintendo)

Growing up I never considered myself a particularly huge fan of Nintendo. Despite owning a Game Boy, me and my sister religiously played the PS1 and then progressed onto the PS2. I was all about ‘The Sims 2’ and ‘The Simpons Hit & Run’ back in the day.

Ask me to choose now I will confess that Nintendo own my heart.

Pokemon, Mario and Animal Crossing. The three games that you can always guarantee I’ll play without a fuss. You may argue that I’m a ‘typical girl gamer,’ but so be it. I like what I like and if that makes me an amateur of the gaming world then please rethink your statement as I never confessed to be a ‘gamer’ to begin with.

In true ‘girl gamer’ style, my favourite game is ‘Animal Crossing.’ What can I say? I’m a sucker for the cute villagers, collecting things and decorating. So, you can only imagine the excitementย when Nintendo announced they were bringing out a game purely dedicated to the latter. The interior designer in me was bursting with delight.

The concept of the game is simple. You’reย an employee at ‘Nook’s Homes’ where it is your job to decorate each villager’s house while also being given the opportunity to design different town facilities including shops, a school and restaurant.

happy-home-designer-commercial-cgi-2

(Image credit to Animal Crossing World)

However, you can’t just decorate willy-nilly. You will be given a brief criteria to follow and a few items that must be incorporated into the final design. As the game progresses, you unlock more items to use, emotions for your character and you are also able to go back and visit each villager.

Something else that excited me a lot is that on starting the game you can customise your character – something that the previous Animal Crossing games have lacked. Hair, eyes & skin tone can all be changed to your preference.

ACHHH_FEAT

(Image credit to nerdist)

Another thing worth mentioning is the Amiibo feature. With the Amiibo cards you are able to design the houses of extra characters including Tom Nook and K.K Slider while also allowing you to invite that character into another villager’s house. Nothing like a little AC party, eh?

Having played the game for a few weeks now, I only have one negative to address – it can get pretty repetitive. However, with the game’s concept that was to be expected and the fact that you continue to unlock different town facilities to design and different items to use it’s definitely worthwhile to continue the gameplay. There are certainly a good number of villagers to keep you busy.

Is the game worth it? If you’re a fan of Animal Crossing and love the designing aspect of it then yes! If not, then you’re not missing out on much. Now, if you don’t mind, I’m off to make someone’s dream home a reality.

Rating: 4/5

Bloglovin’ | YouTube | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

