Pour The Champagne.

Panic_A_Fever

[Photo credit to Panic! at the Disco]

Panic! at the Disco’s debut album, ‘A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out’ recently went double platinum selling 2 million copies since it’s release in September 2005 – THAT’S OVER TEN YEARS AGO!

If you are unfamiliar with this album then let me give you a lyric that may jog your memory: “What a shame the poor groom’s bride is a whore.”

Yep, ‘AFYCSO’ is the album that homes Panic!’s most recognisable song, ‘I Write Sins Not Tragedies.’ Most of you have probably disconnected from the band’s whereabouts since then so I’ll give you a brief summary.

After ‘AFYCSO’ smashed the ’emo’ world (it still beats me why people considered this music ’emo’), Pretty. Odd was a pretty flop among some critics possibly due to the change of genre – baroque pop? Four then became two when Ryan Ross and Jon Walker left the band, but despite Ryan being the main songwriter, the show went on. Two albums later, the loss of another member but the gain of a new one (who was recently downgraded to a ‘touring member’), the band are set to release their fifth studio album in January, ‘Death of a Bachelor.’

I first discovered Panic!’s music in 2011, a few months prior to the release of their third album. I distinctly remember coming across the video for ‘I Write Sins Not Tragedies’ on the music channel, ‘Scuzz’ and thinking it was one hell of a catchy tune – yes, believe it or not I actually hadn’t heard of the song before this – and that the lead vocalist was looking hella fiiiiiine! I then went on to do as one does when discovering a new band – watched the music videos, read the Wikipedia page, followed them on Twitter – and so the obsession began.

What is the purpose of this post you ask? Well, over the past couple of years I have felt myself grow distant from the formally four-piece band. The newer music just doesn’t captivate and excite me as much as the first three albums, but that doesn’t mean that I won’t listen to their new album and I do not doubt that I will be first in line for tickets should they come back to Glasgow.

I suppose I want to highlight that it’s okay to ‘grow out’ of an artist you used to consider your number 1 fave. Maybe I’m alone in feeling some small level of guilt and regret that I don’t feel the same passion for the band that played a huge part in my life when I was 16, I don’t know. As artists grow and their music changes and develops, so do their fans.

Just because their latest album doesn’t fully satisfy your musical requirements, doesn’t mean that you can’t still enjoy that said music and it for sure doesn’t make you a ‘bad fan.’

YouTube | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

