The Education Dilemma

Over the past month or so I have been working on my UCAS application and have recently finalised it and sent it away. At the moment, the thought of starting university isn’t playing at the forefront of my mind – you can blame my graded unit project for that – but admittedly there was a time that it didn’t cross my mind at all.

Leaving in 6th year at 17 years old I started college and began studying a completely different course to that I am now – Early Education & Childcare. Unsurprisingly I had no idea what it was that I wanted to do and what it was that I would enjoy doing. I liked the idea of working with children and potentially becoming a nursery teacher but less than a year later I wasn’t so sure. You would be surprised at just how much work goes into working in a nursery. It not just singing songs and playing with the sand. Don’t get me wrong, I genuinely did enjoy my time working in the nursery itself but my heart wasn’t 100% in it.

When the time came to think about what I wanted to do the following year I was stuck. I first considered Acting & Performance as I had previously been an avid lover of drama and an ‘aspiring actress’ in my high school days but my lack of confidence knocked that idea. I browsed course after course and after contemplating Fashion, continuing with the Childcare course, applying for and being rejected to sit more Highers,  I finally settled on Media & Communication. The course taught so many different subjects – some I didn’t even know anything about – so hoping that it would shine some light on what I wanted to do I applied and to my surprise actually got in.

Up until now I couldn’t really see myself going to university. Ignorant maybe, I imagined everyone going to uni as being ‘super smart’ and thought that my brains did not accelerate to such a level. Put into the equation that my mental health was in no good shape, I just wanted to get through the year and while people around me were jumping on the uni bandwagon, I decided that I would stick with Media. After all, it was now that I had discovered that my writing skills weren’t too shabby and that I actually enjoyed this aspect of the course.

However, to say that I wasn’t tempted to swerve in a different direction again would be a lie. You may or may not know that I have a huge love for Japan. This love goes so far that I have contemplated, and is actually still a dream to this day, to study Japanese at Edinburgh University. This dream however is not very realistic nor achievable for the time being as I do not have enough Highers (hence my reasoning for applying to sit more). I am still on the same boat now and unfortunately my HNC/HND in Media would not equivalent to an extra Higher and as it is no way associated with the Japanese course, I do not meet the requirements.

I suppose I just want to highlight that it’s completely okay to not know what you want to do and to jump from course to course. One of my best friends has sat four different courses in three years all of which do not relate to one another in the slightest. Next year I am hoping to study Journalism, Creative Writing & English at Strathclyde University. Studying Media & Communication has allowed me to narrow my studies down further although I am still unsure of what it is I want as a career. I have also applied to continue on with the Media & Communication course entering into the third year at Glasgow Caledonian and Social Sciences & Media.

Up until this year I didn’t think university was for me, but now I realise that it is and that I am more than capable of studying at this level. Sometimes it can just take a few years to figure out where you want to go with your education and even then you can still be unsure of what you really want to do.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

One thought on “The Education Dilemma

Leave a Reply

