TOP 5 ARTISTS OF 2015

Back in the day I listened to music all day, every day and was constantly on the lookout for new artists to discover. As I’ve grown older though, the motivation to discover new music has diminished which saddens me. The reason? To put it bluntly, I’m lazy. When it comes to listening or watching something new, I just find it takes too much time and effort. It’s something that needs my full attention and half the time I’d rather be doing something else.

For the most part of 2015 I have stuck with the artists I know and love with a couple of new discoveries along the way. Here are five of the artists I have been obsessed with over the past 12 months.

1) SET IT OFF

SetItOff2015_creditEllieMitchell

[Image credit]

I honestly can’t believe that there was ever a time that I didn’t listen to this American pop/punk band. I discovered them at the end of last year after stumbling across their music video for ‘Why Worry‘ – it’s one of my favourite music videos ever. Despite pop/punk being my favourite genre of music, it’s actually very rare for me to find a band that I instantly fall in love with. As soon as I listened to the rest of their latest album ‘Duality,’ I knew that these guys were gonna be up there at the top. Some of my favourite tracks include ‘Plastic Promises,’ ‘Ancient History,’ ‘I’d Rather Drown,’ and ‘Why Worry.’

2) 5 SECONDS OF SUMMER

5-seconds-of-summer-946-press

[Image credit]

A band I have loved for some time and have continued to be obsessed with this year is 5SOS. Their debut album remains an ultimate favourite of mine, so I did have my doubts as to whether ‘Sounds Good Feels Good’ would live up to it. But my doubts were unnecessary. While their first album still remains number 1, ‘SGFG’ isn’t too far behind. ‘Jet Black Heart‘ is probably my favourite song they have released so far. No doubt you’d have already heard ‘She Looks So Perfect’ and ‘She’s Kinda Hot,’ but I highly recommend you give ‘Catch Fire,’ ‘Lost In Reality’, ‘Voodoo Doll‘ and ‘English Love Affair‘ a listen to.

3) MARINA & THE DIAMONDS

MARINA-6939crop

[Image credit]

It’s no secret that my favourite artist is this Welsh/Greek goddess. The obsession did not die down this year, especially as this was the year that I finally got to see her live for the first time. Her three albums are all very different but each are as fabulous as the next. If you’ve never listened to her before then you have been missing out. Get ‘Hypocrates,’ ‘Oh No!,’ ‘Bubblegum Bitch,’ and ‘Savages‘ listened to now!

4) MELANIE MARTINEZ

13655

[Image credit]

A completely new discovery for me this year was Melanie Martinez. I vaguely recall listening to her single ‘Dollhouse‘ when it first came out and not being overly fussed about it, but while scrolling through Tumblr I came across the song, ‘Soap‘ and instantly fell in love with it. Include the fact that I adored her image – anything cute & pink is a winner to me – I knew I had to check her out. Luckily I discovered her a few weeks prior to the release of her debut album, ‘Cry Baby’ so there weren’t many songs for me to ‘binge listen’ to. A few months later and her album is probably my favourite from this year. My favourite tracks are ‘Cake,’ ‘Mrs Potato Head,’ ‘Soap’ and ‘Tag You’re It.’

5) AGAINST THE CURRENT

againstthecurrent_2015head

[Image credit]

Against the Current – an up and coming pop/punk band. I feel rather loyal towards Against the Current as I first started listening to them when they only had one song out about three years ago. Fast forward to 2015 and they’ve released two EPs, embarked on a world tour and are getting ready to support All Time Low on their UK leg of the ‘Back To Future Hearts’ tour in February. It’s clear that this three-piece is set for big things and I can’t wait to see what 2016 holds for them. I highly recommend you give ‘Talk,’ ‘Paralyzed‘ and ‘Infinity‘ a listen to.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

