GOODBYE 2015, HELLO 2016

635845200979031950-1693487873_2016yay

[Credit]

2015, for me, was a year that I will hold of great importance for the rest of my life. It was a year that I truly began living and one that, as cheesy as it may sound, I began to piece together just who I am. It was primarily the year that I focused on myself, both my mental well-being and being the best I could possibly be. It has been no means a smooth journey, but I can honestly say that 2015 was the best year I’ve had in a very long time.

I’ve attached my latest video below where I talk about my year and hopes for 2016 in a bit more detail, but I thought I’d give a quick rundown on here of some of my 2015 highlights.

EDUCATION

This year I completed my HNC Media & Communication course with an ‘A’ in my Graded Unit before advancing onto the HND. At the beginning of the year I had no idea what I wanted to do, and to some extent I still don’t, but as the year progressed I came to realise that I’d love to do something with writing. This was also the year that I decided I was more than ready to take on university. I felt indifferent towards going to uni for the longest of time but I’m actually looking forward to the experience and furthering my education. I think it’s going to really help boost my confidence too!

EXPERIENCE & OPPORTUNITIES

I am the worst for staying in my comfort zone and not saying ‘yes’ to things. This is something that I’ve been taking small steps in improving over the second half of this year. During the summer I began volunteering at a charity shop. This is something that I was incredibly nervous about approaching, but now, almost 6 months on, I could not be happier with my decision in starting. I also joined a casting agency in October. Again, this was an incredibly nerve-wracking thing to do as I had never done anything like this before let alone off my own back. After putting it off for months, I finally signed up. My main goal for 2016 is to continue saying ‘yes’ to more things and hopefully this time next year I’ll have a whole lot more experiences under my belt!

HEALTH

Finally, the biggest thing for me this year was improving my health – both physical and mental. At the beginning of the year I was severely underweight and incredibly unhappy. I was in a constant battle with my head. However, over the coming months and with the help and support of professionals and the Instagram recovery community, I was able to push on forward and at the end of September I reached the healthy weight range – the first time in two years. I’ve been on the up since then! Of course, I’ve had my down days and I still have a way to go before I am fully recovered, but I have come a long way from where I was this time last year.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

