6 FILMS FOR 2016

It’s no secret that I’m not the biggest film watcher. I don’t possess the motivation to sit and watch a film at home and while I do enjoy going to the cinema, I’d much rather spend my money elsewhere. However, there are a number of upcoming films that I am rather excited about and will 100% be taking advantage of the ‘Meerkat Movies’ promotion for.

Pride, Prejudice and Zombies

I’ve never read Pride & Prejudice nor have I watched the 2005 film adaption. The closest thing to a period drama you’ll catch me watching is ‘The Girl In The Fireplace’ episode from Doctor Who, series 2. However, I am a bit of a sucker for zombie films – not that I’ve seen many – and if you throw Douglas Booth into the equation, I’M SOLD! The film is based on the 2009 parody novel which is a mix of the classic tale and modern zombie fiction. It also stars Lily James (Cinderella) and Matt Smith (Doctor Who).

[12th February]

The Boy

Of course, this list would not be complete without a few horrors on it. I am still on the hunt for that one ‘scary movie’ that will keep me awake at night and maybe 2016 will be the year. The first of the two horrors featured on this list is ‘The Boy.’ The story revolves around a young woman who becomes a nanny to an 8-year-old boy. However, this boy is in fact a life sized porcelain doll. There are a set of strict rules that she must follow and should these be broken, well, you can take a guess at what kind of things will happen.

[19th February]

The Jungle Book

A live-action adaption of the classic tale and Disney film. Need I say more?

[14th April]

The Counjuring 2: The Enfield Poltergeist

The second horror I’ll 100% be going to see is the sequel to 2013’s ‘The Counjuring.’ There hasn’t been too much talk about the plot, but the oh so trusting ‘Wikipedia’ page informs me that “Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga reprise their roles as paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren, who travel to England to investigate poltergeist activity at a council house in the Enfield.”

Finding Dory

We’re finally getting a ‘Finding Nemo’ sequel – 13 YEARS LATER! Similarly to ‘Toy Story 3’ and ‘Monsters University,’ I shall be among those who are now in their twenties after having seen the first while I was still a single digit. Let’s not lie to ourselves here. It’s us oldies that are looking forward to this more than the kids. This sequel takes us along on Dory’s journey to reunite with her parents. No doubt something will go wrong along the way – just as long as she doesn’t touch ‘the butt.’

[17th June]

Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them

Hold the phone while I just sit here and take a deep breath. Like many, I believed that 2011 was the end of our insight into the wonderful wizarding world. Little did we know it wasn’t the be all and end. 2016 is the official return of the magical mayhem with ‘Harry Potter & the Cursed Child’ taking to the stage in May and November seeing the film inspired by J.K Rowling’s book of the same name. However, don’t expect to see the familiar faces of Harry, Ron & Hermione. This story follows wizard, Newt Scamander and involves a briefcase housing a variety of dangerous creatures. What could possibly go wrong? Oh, and it has been announced that this film will be the first of ‘at least’ a trilogy. There is hope for us Potter fans yet!

[18th November]

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

