‘THE DANISH GIRL’ REVIEW

DanishGirlPoster

[Credit]

On my recent post, 6 Films For 2016, I completely forgot to mention Eddie Redmayne’s latest flick, ‘The Danish Girl.’ I saw the trailer back in September – Comic Con to be exact – and I remember instantly feeling the need to see it. It didn’t disappoint.

I’ve read mixed reviews on the film, but personally I really enjoyed it. It’s based on the novel of the same name and is loosely inspired by the lives of Lili Elbe and Gerda Wegener – two Danish painters. Gerda is married to Einar Wegener, who poses for one of her paintings when the model fails to show up. This situation unmasks Einar’s inner identification conflict. Lili Elbe comes to life and after the two decide to jokingly fool everyone at a formal event, it soon becomes clear that this is more than just ‘a game.’

As the film progresses, the identity of Einar is left behind. After seeing a number of doctors and being labelled as homosexual and schizophrenic, Lili finally meets with a doctor who informs her about sex reassignment surgery. I’m not going to spoil the ending for anyone who wishes to go and see the film – and I highly recommend it – but I can say that my eyes certainly glazed over.

Eddie Redmayne’s performance was on point. He’s slowly becoming one of my favourite actors. When it was first announced, a lot of people were a bit apprehensive about having someone who is not transgender playing Einar/Lili, but I think he pulled it off incredibly well. Alicia Vikander’s performance as Gerda was also amazing. She’s also pretty damn gorgeous and I seriously couldn’t take my eyes off of her.

Overall, I thought the film was amazing. As did my sister which says a lot. She’s a huge film watcher, and as I’m very picky with what films I go and see, I think it’s safe to say that ‘The Danish Girl’ covered both grounds.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

