WE’RE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER

landscape-1439334799-high-school-musical23827

[Credit]

The 20th of January marks the tenth anniversary of the Disney Channel Original Movie, ‘High School Musical.’ Although it wasn’t until September that the film first aired here in the UK, it was the beginning of 2006 that the world was first introduced to the Wildcats.

Like many 10 year olds at the time, I was obsessed. I recall the first couple of weeks after I bought the DVD. I watched it almost every day. The franchise holds a special place in my heart, as I believe it also does in many others. I have fond memories related to each of the three films – primarily the ‘HSM sleepovers’ me and my two former best friends would throw. These consisted of watching the film and then spending the rest of the night on YouTube, listening to the songs on repeat. One of my favourite memories was when we went down to the fish & chip shop before the premiere of ‘HSM2.’ Standing among the smell of the vinegary chips, we were counting down the minutes, praying that we made it back in time.

To say I was a crazed fan would be an understatement. Aside from all three DVDs and CDs – which I still own to this day – I had the perfume, DVD game, books, a board game, multiple video games and collected the magazine. One of my favourite pieces of ‘HSM’ merch was a necklace of Chad’s ‘I majored in vacation’ t-shirt. I still love all three films to this day. So much so, that I made my 9-year-old sister watch them last summer.

Taking all of this on board, you can imagine my elation when I heard that there had been a ‘HSM’ reunion consisting of five of the six main cast members. Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Grabeel, Corbin Bleu & Monique Coleman reunited to film a show celebrating the anniversary, reminiscing about their time on the films. Zac Efron was unable to join them, to many fans’ disappointment, but pre-recorded a message that will be shown. Unfortunately, the reunion will not be aired on the Disney Channel until September, but will be showed in the US on the 20th of this month.

high-school-musical-reunion-photo

[Credit]

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

