SOURCED BOX | JANUARY REVIEW

If I could live my life just eating breakfast foods and snacks I totally would. I’ve always been a snacker. Probably something to do with having ‘snack time’ ingrained in me from a young age – 10am & 3pm. I may not follow these rigid snack rules now, but you can still catch me snacking throughout the day, especially between lunch & dinner. This year my love for snacking and healthy food has combined. The result: Sourced Box.

DSCN0029

I wrote a brief post about this new subscription box back in December and now that it’s arrived and the snacks have been devoured, it only felt right to give you a little more insight into the snacks included.

DSCN0042

The box comes in really durable packaging. Unlike Kawaii Box which came to my house bashed half the time, the box arrived in a waterproof package. To be fair the Kawaii Box came all the way from Asia so maybe I’m just giving it a hard time. On opening the box, there is a menu giving you a list of all the products and tissue paper covering/protecting the snacks.

DSCN0033

SAVORY SNACKS

Mini Rice Thins – Rude Health

There’s nothing overly special about these. They’re just your basic rice cakes in a snack sized bag. Made of only rice & sea salt, they’re gluten free and are perfect teamed with houmous or almond butter.

Broccoli Crisps – The Giving Tree

These are a great healthy alternative to crisps. 1 of your 5 a day, these little florets aren’t like your usual veggie crisps. They really are broccoli shaped! If these tree-like veg aren’t usually to your fancy, don’t be so quick to bash them. The flavour is very subtle.

Spicy Pizza Toasts – Science Kitchen

High in fibre and protein, these mini toasts really do smell and taste like pizza. I had these with some soup and they made a great substitute to bread. Initially I thought these would be crispy, but there was a bit of a chew to them. They’re also rich in omega 3 and vitamins so a great little nutritious snack.

DSCN0045

DRINKABLE DELIGHTS

Chocolate ‘Mylk’ – Rebel Kitchen

I’m a huge chocolate milk lover so I was beyond excited to try this. It’s made with coconut milk so is dairy free – great for you lactose intolerant peeps! It’s made with all natural ingredients and is sweetened with date nectar so is much better for you than your usual choco milk.

Dozy Girl Tea & Honey Bee Beautiful Tea – Bluebird Tea Co.

Despite not being a huge tea drinker, I must say that I enjoyed trying these. The ‘Dozy Girl’ tea is made up of lavender, chamomile and rose and the ‘Honey Bee Beautiful’ tea is a honey rooibos blend. The latter can be made with or without milk.

[NB: The ‘Dozy Girl’ tea isn’t in the picture as I had already drunk it..oops].

DSCN0048

SWEET TREATS

Coco ‘Mylk’ Buttons – Ombar

I had never tried dairy free chocolate before so was a little apprehensive, but I can honestly say that these were one of my favourite things in this months box. They’re made with creamed coconut and cacao, so again, a healthy alternative to Dairy Milk buttons.

Rosehip & Lemon Organic Bar – LoveRaw

I love snack bars. They’re probably my favourite things to eat and I’m always looking for new brands and flavours to try. I had never heard of LoveRaw before but I’d definitely consider trying other flavours. No added sugar, gluten, dairy, wheat & soy free and a source of omega 3 and 6, this bar is perfect for those health food enthusiasts.

Maca Bliss Raw Choc Brownie – Pulsin’

Who doesn’t love a good brownie?! This was the only product that I had actually tried before. It’s made primarily of dates and cashews and also has ‘energy-boosting’ maca in it which is rich in vitamins. Being gluten free and with no added sugar, it’s much better for you than your typical brownie.

Pecan, Cinnamon & Lucuma Flapjack – Sassy’s Kitchen

This was probably one of the products I was most excited to try. I love pecans and cinnamon and flapjacks are one of my favourite sweet treats, so throw the three into one and I’m bound to love it! In this little joy you’ll find superfoods, antioxidants and no added sugar or wheat/gluten.

DSCN0050

EXTRA GOODIES

Apple & Mango Fruit Jerky – Snact.

This apple & mango fruit jerky really is in the shape of jerky! Made of 100% fruit, so no added sugar, Snact. uses surplus fruit. You know that fruit that gets thrown away because it’s wonky? Yep, that stuff.

Persian Mulberry Pro Mix – Wyldsson

Trail mixes are super versatile and that’s what makes them so great! Whether they’re eaten as a snack or as a yogurt topper, you cannot fault the power of a fruit, nut & seed mix. This one consists of cashews, almonds, sunflower seeds, hazelnuts, Persian mulberries, currants, pumpkin seeds and sundried gogi berries. Packed full of goodness!

Coconut Almond Butter – Pip & Nut

Almond butter, and nut butters in general, are a staple in my diet. I also love coconut. Two of my favourite things combined = another instant love. Teamed with blueberry & vanilla rice cakes, it makes the perfect snack. The only negative thing I have to say about this though is that it’s a son of a bitch to try and squeeze out of the pouch and for the love of god, make sure you squeeze the packet plenty otherwise you’ll get an oily mess!

DSCN0055

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

