LET’S TALK FRIENDSHIP

heart-195147_960_720

Friendship is a funny thing. You meet people and actively choose that you like said person enough to hang out with and maybe even share your deepest, darkest secrets with. There are so many different ‘types’ of friends too: best friends, school friends, college/uni friends, family friends…

I’ve never had a huge group of friends myself. Instead, I’ve always had individual friends. I’ve got two best friends but neither of them actually know the other. I’ve got friends in my college class, but there are a select few that I feel more comfortable and confident around. I’ve got friends who live in America and friends who are primarily my sister’s friends.

Friends come and go as you get older. Starting and leaving high school are both iconic times for both losing and gaining friends. When I started high school I fell out with my first two best friends, but I met one of my current best friends. All of my other friends from school I lost contact with which is natural. However, on starting college I made other friends and a second best friend.

It’s also common for you to act different depending on which friend you are with. I act completely different towards my college friends then I do with my best friends. I even act slightly different with each of my best friends to an extent. Maybe some people would address this as ‘fake,’ but a number of factors tie into it including how long you have been friends and how comfortable you feel around that friend.

Some people find it easy to make friends while others don’t. I’m the latter, but even so, every time I start a new course or go somewhere new, there’s bound to be at least someone that I click with.

In life you’ll become friends with people that you’ll lose contact with, drift away from or fall out with. Some will stick with you for years – maybe for the rest of your life. Some you may even develop feelings for. At the end of the day, friendship is an important thing no matter your age. So, send that message to the friend you haven’t spoken to in a while, make amends if you’ve fallen out with someone and don’t let those friendships fade.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

One thought on “LET’S TALK FRIENDSHIP

  1. scootlespma says:

    This reminds me of the theory that people are like “social actors” when you say you act differently with different friends, which I always found interesting. Good observations and self-analysis!

    Like

Leave a Reply

