INTRODUCING: AGAINST THE CURRENT

download

[Credit]

There is nothing I love more than discovering new artists, so I thought I’d start sharing some of my favourites on here and not in just a typical ‘top 10’ post. The first in this ‘mini-series’ is pop/punk band, Against The Current.

I’ve been a fan of this American trio since I stumbled across their one and only song at the time, Thinking three years ago. I remember feeling absolutely gutted when I realised that this was the only original song that they had released, so you can imagine my delight when several months later they finally released a second song, Guessing.’

Their music can only be described as pop/punk perfection. Some people have argued that their music is a lot more ‘pop’ than ‘punk,’ but personally I think they have simply nailed down their own version of the genre. In this day and age, pop/punk isn’t just all ‘Green Day and Blink 182.’

Fronted by Chrissy Costanza with Dan Gow on guitar and Will Ferri (Mike Ferri from We Are The In Crowd’s younger brother) on drums, these youngsters are predicted to see big things. Having been featured a number of times already in two of the biggest UK music magazines, ‘Kerrang!’ and ‘Rocksound,’ I can’t help but feel a sense of pride. ATC are one of the select few bands that I can honestly say that I’ve been a fan of since the beginning.

Since ‘Thinking’ and ‘Guessing,’ they have released two EPs, been on several of their own headline tours, signed with American record label ‘Fueled By Ramen’ (home of bands such as Paramore, Fall Out Boy and Panic! at the Disco), supported All Time Low in the UK along with Good Charlotte and are now building up to the release of their debut album, ‘In Our Bones’ in May.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

 

Leave a Reply

