TOP 5 BOOKS | WORLD BOOK DAY 2016

2016-02-16-world-book-day

[Credit]

Today, the 3rd of March, marks World Book Day and across the world people are dressing up as their favourite book characters – my sister included. As a book lover myself – although I don’t read nearly as much as I used to unfortunately – and as I have no need to dress up, I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite books.

1) ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

These days it’s incredibly hard for me to find a book that comes out on top. However, last year I finally got round to reading ‘All The Bright Places’ and I was truly captivated by it. The main theme running through the story is mental illness and having had my own struggles in the past, I was naturally drawn to the plot more so than any other. The story revolves around Violet & Finch who meet on the bell tower of their school. One of them saves the other and after that they both begin to fall for each other. However, as Violet begins to live her life again after the death of her twin sister, Finch’s is going in the opposite direction. Prepare to shed a tear when reading this.

18460392

[Credit]

2) The ‘Harry Potter’ Series by JK Rowling

I highly doubt much needs to be said about these books. Like many others, I grew up watching the films but admittedly I didn’t read the books until a couple of years ago. If I have any regrets in my life then it is that I didn’t read them sooner. Who doesn’t want to be transported to the wonderful wizarding world that is Harry Potter? No franchise compares, and the books give so much more detail and so much more extra magic than the films. If you haven’t read them already, I cannot recommend them enough.

HARRY POTTER

[Credit]

3) ‘Looking For Alaska’ by John Green

I know a few people may roll their eyes at this, but I personally love John Green. He’s probably my favourite author. I’ve read all of his books – with the exception of his Christmas collaboration – and my favourite by far is ‘Looking For Alaska.’ Another ‘boy meets girl’ tale, this one takes place in a boarding school. When Miles meets Alaska, his world is turned upside down. You’ll definitely need a box of tissues when reading this one.

looking

[Credit]

4) ‘The Hourglass Factory’ by Lucy Ribchester

I hold my hands up and admit that I usually opt for the teen romance novels, so I was genuinely surprised that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. I picked it up in Sainsbury’s for a few pounds as I desperately wanted something new to read, but was very hesitant. Set in London, 1912, it’s the time of the suffragette movement. A young journalist is trying to make her way up in the largely male dominated industry and in doing so she sets out on finding  what happened to an acrobat who disappears mid-show.

the

[Credit]

5) ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ by John Green

I hate to be a ‘stereotypical white girl,’ but I cannot help but love this novel. Another by John Green, this is one of the select few books that I’ve actually read more then once. I’m sure most of you know the general gist of the story by now: girl meets boy, both have cancer, a romantic tale unfolds before tragedy strikes.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

[Credit]

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

