‘HOW TO BE SINGLE’ | FILM REVIEW

how

[Credit]

I can’t remember the last time I went to see a comedy at the cinema. It’s not that I dislike them, it’s just that I’m never overly fussed and as I’ve stated before, I’m very picky about what I see at the cinema. However, a day with one of my best friends was needed and with two out of the three film options ruled out, it was clear that we had to settle with ‘How To Be Single.’

The film focuses around four women who are all single, each for different reasons: Alice is on a ‘break’ from her relationship, Robin is a party animal who doesn’t want to settle down, Alice’s sister Meg is more focused on her career as a doctor and Lucy is still in the process of looking for ‘The One’ through online dating sites.

I had previously seen the trailer for the film so knew it was going to be funny, but I didn’t expect to laugh as much I did. Most of the comedy spirals from the one character, Robin. My personal favourite is when she references Alice’s vagina to a number of different things, each as ridiculous as the next.

It’s an enjoyable film, but I wouldn’t say it is one that you will necessarily remember in years to come. It’s great in the moment, but you don’t leave the cinema feeling any sort of particular emotion other than the tiredness that often comes with sitting in the dark for an hour and a half. There isn’t anything that separates this comedy from any other.

If you’re looking for a fun cinema trip with your girlfriends then I highly recommend you go and see this, otherwise you’re not missing much.

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

