WHY DO I LOVE JAPAN?

mt-fuji-1068907_960_720

Mt. Fuji, Japan’s highest mountain

Have you ever been so intrigued and in love with a country that isn’t your own? One that you have never even been to? If so, then maybe you will understand where I’m coming from when I say that I love Japan.

For 3/4 years now, I have been captivated and obsessed with the east Asian country. Before my love of Japan took over, I had never been overly fussed about other countries in the respect that there was no country that I was overly eager to visit. I am very much a homebody. However, Japan is the only country that I would genuinely jump at the chance of going to and would 100% choose to go to over my family’s usual summer holiday destination of a Haven holiday park.

But what is it that makes me so eager to visit the country?

The Scenery

Japan’s scenery never fails to take my breath away. Whether it be the skyline of Tokyo or the blossoming sakura (cherry blossom), there is no denying that the country is truly captivating. My Tumblr page could be considered a shrine to the scenery at times among all the pink. There’s just something about it that makes me feel this rush of serenity and makes me feel as if all is well in the world. There is nothing I would love to see more than that scenery in person, especially the cherry blossoms.

cropped-japan_beautiful

[Credit]

Shopping

If I were lucky enough to go to Japan, this is where I would do the most damage. As I watch a number of YouTubers who live in Japan, I have a fair bit of knowledge about what to expect in terms of shopping. Cute clothes, anime merch and just random things that you probably don’t need in your life. Shopping heaven. Being obsessed with ‘kawaii’ clothing can be hard living in the UK. I’m very picky about ordering online and so most of my clothes I buy instore but this means my choice is limited when it comes to the clothes I’d ideally like to wear. In Japan this would not be a problem. The Harajuku district in Tokyo is bursting with fashion boutiques. Also, Shibuya 109 is the department store of dreams with so many cute clothing stores such as Liz Lisa, Honey Cinnamon and a whole store dedicated to socks. Need I say more? If it’s anime that you’re looking for, the Akihabara district is basically anime heaven and is known for its ‘otaku’ culture.

 

FOOD FOOD FOOD

The food. Oh dear lord, THE FOOD! What with noodles being my favourite food, it’s only natural that I would want to visit a country where they are a staple in the cuisine. Wagamama is my favourite restaurant, so the thought of seeing that type of food everywhere pleases me immensely. I’m also a huge lover of sushi and would love to try the real stuff and not the supermarkets version. Japan is also notorious for its weird and wonderful flavours – baked potato Kit Kats and chocolate McDonalds fries to name a few – and being as curious as I am, I would love to try these odd takes on different foods.

japanesefood

[Credit]

The Culture

Last but not least, the culture. I just find it so intriguing as it’s so different from our own. There’s a huge difference in the etiquette over here than there is over there and I think it would be interesting to witness it first hand and be among it. The temples and shrines are also beautiful and I would love to learn more about them and their history.

 

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-116-8D7E0C98309C05E5BF8AD1C6C8A49382

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

