MY FAVOURITE SONGS

I am a huge music lover. I may posses zero musical talent, but I consider myself pretty damn good at listening to the stuff. I’ve never been one to stick to a specific genre and my iTunes and Spotify ranges from Green Day to Kesha to Shania Twain. I’m sure I’m not the only one when I say that there are a number of songs that I could listen to on repeat and never get tired of. Songs that I can never bring myself to skip whenever I’ve got my music on shuffle. Here are five of those songs.

The Call by Regina Spektor

Usually when someone asks what my favourite song is, I’ll just go with my favourite song at that moment in time. Really I should be going with this. ‘The Call’ is my number one favourite song of all time. I first discovered it after watching ‘The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian’ back when it was first released in 2008 and I have loved it ever since. I was just in love with Regina’s voice and I always related the song with my old obsession with the Narnia films. As I got older however, the meaning of the song changed for me and it became a lot more emotional as I felt I could relate to it in terms of my recovery. The lyrics that stood out to me especially during this time were ‘You’ll come back when it’s over, no need to say goodbye.’

Dream by Miley Cyrus

This song may be from the Hannah Montana movie soundtrack but do not dare think to judge. This song is more than just music to my ears. It’s one of those tracks that can instantly lift my spirits. If I’m having a bad day, all I need to do is stick this song on and life is suddenly 100x better. I’m also one of the most nostalgic people  you will ever meet so any song that takes me back to before the age of 16 is an instant fave.

Last Hope by Paramore

I knew I wanted to include at least one Paramore song on this list but the question was, which one? I decided to settle on ‘Last Hope’ as the lyrics posses more meaning to me than the other three, but I can confirm that ‘Miracle,’ ‘Born For This’ and ‘Proof’ all shortly follow. Taken from their most recent album, this song may not be as iconic as their older stuff but when I first heard this track I instantly felt a connection with the lyrics. It may have been due to a situation that was going on in my life at that time (I pretty much found a way to relate every song to it), but three years later I still feel that spark whenever I listen to it – no pun intended. It’s one of those songs that everyone can relate to in one way or another.

We’ll Be A Dream by We The Kings ft. Demi Lovato

I’ve never been a huge fan of We The Kings. There’s only a handful of songs that I listen to including this one. I am, however, a huge Demi Lovato fan and have been since 2009. This song is truly mesmerising and as the title may suggest, dream-like. It’s a song I’ve listened to for years and have yet to get bored of. The beat of the song makes me feel this sense of serenity and it’s just one of those tracks that is really easy to listen to.

You’ll Be In My Heart by Phil Collins

One of my earliest memories is of dancing in front of my reflection in the TV screen to the ‘Tarzan’ soundtrack. I would do it all the time and it is for this reason and the fact that I am so nostalgic that the soundtrack has remained close to my heart. This top 5 would not be complete without one of those songs. This soundtrack is the only album that can reduce me to tears with no real effort at all purely for the fact that it’s so nostalgic for me. However, this song tugs at my heartstrings even more as it always makes me think of my Granny. I don’t really know why as I can’t recall ever listening to it with her around – that’s where Shania Twain comes in. I think I must have just listened to it at a time that I was missing her more than usual. Anyway, the whole soundtrack is iconic.

If you’re interested in what my favourite albums are then feel free to watch this video that I made a few months.

 

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-116-8D7E0C98309C05E5BF8AD1C6C8A49382

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

